The makers of the wildly popular messaging app are developing a new feature that will let users hide their online status, as reported by the Whatsapp news website WABetaInfo. In other words, you might disable the little in-app signal that shows you’re online, making it possible to use the app more covertly.
This is related to another recent wave of privacy enhancements on Whatsapp that gave you the option to choose who may view your most recent online status. You would be able to mirror that list to your online status, so the same individuals you trust to see your “last seen” indicator would also be able to see when you are presently using the app, according to the beta feature WABetaInfo discovered.
It is now time for every other software to provide this function as well. After a message has been sent, Whatsapp offers the opportunity to delete it. Only communications that are at least an hour old can use this function, though. This is an extension of Whatsapp initial 8-minute time restriction for users to erase chats. The corporation is now raising the threshold so that users may delete communications that are older than two days.