Press "Enter" to skip to content

WhatsApp is Testing a Feature that Lets you Quietly Leave Groups

WhatsApp is developing a feature that will allow you to depart groups without sending a public announcement. WABetaInfo first mentioned the feature when Meta talked about testing with Communities, which allows individuals to connect many group conversations “under one roof with a structure that works for them.

The magazine has now received a screenshot of WhatsApp beta on the desktop, which shows an exit box that states, Only you and group admins will be alerted that you left the group. When the functionality is accessible on desktop, it is hoped that it will also be available on mobile.

Users can always stop individual contacts from adding you back or adding you to another group chat with them. You may specify who can add you to groups under your Account Privacy settings, with the options “Everyone,” “My Contacts,” and “My Contacts except…” the individuals you omit.To help alleviate the dilemma, WABetainfo discovered a beta feature that allows participants to quit a group chat with just the group admins being alerted. “Only you and group admins will be alerted that you left the group,” reads a popup when a group member opts out.

WhatsApp is trying rich link previews in Status updates in another beta development. Rich link previews would provide a preview of the website being linked to, giving users an indication of the information they may expect to see if they visit the webpage, whereas sharing a link in a Status update now simply displays the URL.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.